iPhone Duo

First foldable iPhone Duo arrives in Apple stores worldwide

The iPhone Duo, Apple's first foldable, is now available in Apple Store locations, on apple.com and in the Apple Store app.

iPhone Duo opened in vertical position and iPhone 18 Pro Max side by side, both with the same image of a person with red hair who is dressed in red, iPhone Duo showing more of the image due to the larger screen
Photograph: Apple (press image)

Shop links.Gadgetry may earn a commission when you buy through links in this article. Commissions do not decide which products we mention. As an Amazon Associate, Gadgetry earns from qualifying purchases. Disclosures

According to Apple’s newsroom, the iPhone Duo, which Apple calls its first foldable iPhone, arrived at Apple Store locations worldwide on Friday, October 23. Apple described the device as “revolutionary” in the announcement. Shoppers filled stores, and Apple team members offered hands-on demos and personalized shopping support. The device and the rest of the iPhone lineup are available at Apple Store locations, on apple.com, and in the Apple Store app. Apple said its Specialists provide world-class support, including help with Apple Trade In, monthly leasing through Apple Upgrade, Apple Card Monthly Installments, and carrier deals. Personal Setup lets buyers safely and securely transfer their data to the new iPhone, according to Apple. Apple also introduced Today at Apple sessions called “Say Hello to iPhone Duo” and “Tips: What’s New in iOS 27 on iPhone”. The company said these sessions let customers “take their passions further with the products they love”.

Update, October 23, 2026

Early reviews criticize the iPhone Duo's cover-screen software. 9to5Google reports that The Verge's Allison Johnson found the iPhone Duo harder to use with one hand than Samsung's Galaxy Z Fold 8, whose taller and narrower cover screen is easier to navigate. The site adds that the iPhone Duo's 5.4-inch outer display uses a right-side sidebar that wastes a large portion of the screen. A video comparison showed the Galaxy Z Fold 8 using a navigation bar, which made the difference less obvious; with gesture navigation, the Fold 8 wastes little space. 9to5Google also says the iPhone Duo's availability is limited, while the Galaxy Z Fold 8 continues to sell well for Samsung.

Update, October 23, 2026

LatestLY reports that iPhone Duo went on sale in India on Friday at ₹2,99,900 for 256GB, ₹3,24,900 for 512GB, ₹3,74,900 for 1TB, and ₹4,49,900 for 2TB. Pre-orders had already pushed shipping estimates into early 2027, according to LatestLY. The report lists a 7.6-inch inner display, A20 Pro chip, 48MP dual camera, 254g weight, and Apple-quoted 44-hour outer-screen video playback. 9to5Mac reports that Apple Pencil support arrives next week via iOS 27.2, requires the Apple Pencil (USB-C), and works on both displays. The site also says iPhone Duo charges to 50 percent in 20 minutes, ships without a power adapter, and recommends the $69 Apple Pencil, $34 Apple 40W adapter, $129 Apple Folio, and HomeKit cameras for a StandBy Home Camera view.

Update, October 24, 2026

Reuters reported the US price is $1,999 and quoted Apple calling the preorder demand 'nothing short of extraordinary'. The report also noted the Duo is an early test for new CEO John Ternus, who unveiled it a week after taking charge in September. Apple told Reuters that walk-in availability would differ by country: the US, Australia, Canada, Mexico and much of Britain and Europe would have limited stock, while China, France, Hong Kong, India and Japan would sell units only to customers who ordered online; Macau would have walk-in purchases only. Longtime Apple commentator John Gruber wrote in a review cited by Reuters that the device felt like 'an extraordinarily polished prototype' rather than a finished product he would want to carry. Reuters cited IDC forecasting Apple to take 44% of foldable value in 2026 on 31% of units and to become market leader in 2027. In Japan, prices start at 364,800 yen including tax, or $2,325, Asahi Shimbun reported. Research firm MM Research Institute told the paper foldables accounted for just 330,000 of Japan's 31.32 million smartphone shipments in fiscal 2025, a 1.1% share.

Update, October 24, 2026

Blinkit sold out its iPhone Duo stock in Delhi-NCR within five minutes of going on sale at 8:15 a.m. on Friday, founder Albinder Dhindsa wrote on X, according to Connected to India. Dhindsa did not say how many units Blinkit offered and added the company is "working on getting more stock in the coming weeks". The report says the sell-out drew social-media questions about whether it reflected demand or limited stock, with one user asking "How many units, 2 or 5? Because Apple themselves have admitted a lukewarm response to their Duo mobiles. So unless you are selling single-digit, this ain’t possible." Another said: "This means we are a rich nation.". Connected to India also reported long queues and large crowds at Apple’s Saket Store in Select Citywalk Mall, Delhi, on Friday morning, and noted the device has a titanium frame.

Update, October 24, 2026

illustrated Daily News reported on October 23 that pre-orders in India began on October 16 and that delivery estimates for several configurations have slipped to January 2027. The publication said buyers can choose Star White or Night Sky, and Apple is offering up to ₹81,500 trade-in credit for an iPhone 13 or newer, up to ₹7,000 cashback with eligible American Express, Axis Bank or ICICI Bank cards, No Cost EMI for up to 12 months, and three months of Apple Music, Apple TV+ and Apple Arcade; AppleCare+ costs ₹51,900 a year. It cited Apple's India product page for both displays supporting ProMotion up to 120Hz, Always-On and 3,000 nits peak brightness, a 2nm A20 Pro chip with a vapour chamber, a 12MP outer front camera and an under-display inner FaceTime camera, and a Grade 5 titanium frame with Ceramic Shield 2 glass and IP68 water resistance. Independent reports cited by illustrated Daily News say the iPhone Duo is eSIM-only and runs iOS 27.1 with Split View optimisations. The report adds that Samsung's Galaxy Z Fold 8 starts at about ₹1,74,999 to ₹1,79,999, and Apple plans to expand availability to more countries from October 30.

Update, October 25, 2026

Mashable India reported on Friday that the Blinkit sellout was first announced by Albinder Dhindsa in a post on X, citing NDTV. The outlet said Blinkit has not disclosed how many units were offered, and warned that the five-minute sellout should not be read as proof of unusually high overall sales because limited initial inventory could explain the short window. Mashable India also noted that quick-commerce platforms are moving beyond groceries into premium electronics, giving buyers a way to purchase expensive devices without visiting a traditional store. It added that product availability on such platforms can vary by location and inventory, so the Delhi-NCR sellout does not by itself show demand across India.

Update, October 25, 2026

RS Web Solutions reported on October 23 that Apple shared launch-day images from Apple Jing’an in Shanghai showing customers celebrating the iPhone Duo. The same report said customers in the United Arab Emirates must reserve a device for pickup, unlike some other markets that allow limited walk-in purchases. Apple has not disclosed a global launch-day stock figure, so availability varies by country, according to the site. RS Web Solutions also noted that Pakistan is not part of Apple’s initial rollout and has no announced release date or official price; consumers there may need to wait for imported units.

Where to buy

The iPhone Duo is on sale. Search for it at Amazon, Best Buy or Walmart.

Corrections.Report an error to corrections@gadgetrymag.com. We list substantive corrections on the corrections page.

Latest